Tuesday, April 13, 2021

China bans UK Members of Parliament for spreading falsehood about Beijing



China has imposed sanctions on nine UK citizens including five MPs for spreading unfounded rumours about the country.

It comes in retaliation for measures taken by the UK government over human rights abuses against the Uighur Muslim minority group.

The action follows similar sanctions imposed on the European Union, which was part of the co-ordinated action.

Beijing has denied the allegations of abuse, claiming the camps are “re-education” facilities used to combat terrorism.

The nine people facing sanctions are Tory MPs Sir Ian Duncan Smith, Tom Tugendhat, Neil O’Brien, Tim Loughton, and Nusrat Ghani.

Others are Lord Alton and Baroness Kennedy; a lawyer, Sir Geoffrey Nice QC, and an academic, Jo Smith Finley.

They will all be banned from entering China, Hong Kong and Macau, their property in China will be frozen while Chinese citizens and institutions can no longer do business with them.