Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Diverse reactions trail Saturday’s guber poll in Imo, Bayelsa, Kogi



Reactions have continued to trail last Saturdays off-circle elections in Imo, Kogi and Bayelsa State

Opinion Moulders showed concerns on
the governorship elections in the three States saying it is characterized by violence, voter apathy, and buying of votes.

They however applauded the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, for deployment of sensitive materials on time as well as the massive deployment of Security personnel across the 3 States.

The much anticipated Off-Cycle Elections in Kogi, Imo and Bayelsa was held Saturday with large turn-out of electorate across the 3 States to perform their civic duty in choosing who will be their next governor in the next four years.

However, there are various skirmishes of violence, voter apathy, buying of votes, pre-filled electoral result sheet among others.

Opinion Moulders have however call on INEC to “promptly establish a joint, credible, transparent, effective and broad-based investigation into allegations of electoral bribery and violence in the off-cycle governorship elections.”

A Member, Yiaga Africa, Dr. Asmau Maikudi said INEC has learnt its lessons and improved on the various challenges faced during previous elections.

She noted that Yiaga Africa has submitted its reports on the election saying INEC should follow to latter and act appropriately.

FCT Coordinator, Technical Election Observer Group, Lookman Adefolahan charged political parties to do more on voter education towards curbing aparthy.

In Imo State, Governor Hope Uzodinma of APC, got 540,308 votes defeating his close rivalry from PDP, Senator Samuel Anyanwu, who came second with 71,503 votes

In Bayelsa State, Candidate of the PDP and Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri, the winner of the just-concluded governorship election in the state polled 175,196 votes to defeat his closest rival of the APC, Chief Timipre Sylva, who scored 110,108.

Meanwhile In Kogi, the candidate of the APC, Usman Ododo, was declared the winner of the election with 446,237 votes and was closely followed by the Social Democratic Party candidate, Muri Ajaka, who scored 259, 052 votes.

However, INEC has announced that fresh polls will be conducted in some polling units in the Ogori/Magongo Local Government Area of Kogi State on November 18, 2023.