Friday, October 30, 2020

Federal Government donates relief materials to states affected by flooding



President Muhmmadu Buhari has authorised the immediate provision of assistance to 12 states most ravaged by the seasonal rains.

The move followed representations to him by the governors of the affected states.

His Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Mallam Garba Shehu, said Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Kogi, Edo, Anambra, Delta, Kano, Jigawa, Rivers, Bayelsa and Adamawa states would benefit from the assistance.

Some of the states that have been reached with the first wave of support from the Presidency are Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Sokoto, Jigawa and Kaduna.

President Muhammadu Buhari expressed the nation’s sympathy to the victims of the floods, many of whom had lost family members, homes and valued investments in agricultural crops and livestock.