Sunday, March 7, 2021

President Buhari Appoints New Service Chiefs



President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation

of the Service Chiefs and appointed new officers as replacements.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

This was announced on Tuesday by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina who noted that the service chiefs have also retired from service.

They are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari appreciated the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

He congratulated the new Service Chiefs and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their

The House, however, urged Nigerians not to expect magic from the new service chiefs.

Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Benjamin Kalu, in an audio statement issued in reaction to the development, said the executive arm of the Federal Government had finally listened to the demand of Nigerians.

Kalu said Nigerians had spoken through various resolutions by the House, some of which called for a change of the service chiefs.

According to him, the security might have been worse if the former service chiefs were not in charged.

The House’s spokesman, however, noted that the new service chiefs would spend “a new energy”, with a different focus, strategy and tactic.